top of page

What are Chakras?

The seven chakras are the main energy centers of the body. You've probably heard people talk about "unblocking" their chakras, which refers to the idea that when all of our chakras are open, energy can run through them freely, and harmony exists between the physical body, mind, and spirit. Chakra translates to "wheel" in Sanskrit, and you can imagine them like wheels of free-flowing positive energy.


1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)
The root chakra represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it's blocked, we feel threatened, as if we're standing on unstable ground.

    Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
    What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
    Mantra: "I can't grow from an unsteady foundation."
    Color: Red / Black
    Element: Earth

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)
The sacral chakra helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. It also governs creativity and sexual energy. Those with a blocked sacral chakra could feel a lack of control in their lives.

    Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
    What it controls: Your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
    Mantra: "I always honor others but not before myself."
    Color: Orange
    Element: Water

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
The third chakra, the solar plexus chakra, speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Think back to the last time you had butterflies or felt a pit in the stomach: That's the Manipura chakra at work. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelming amounts of shame and self-doubt. Those with open sacral chakras are free to express their true selves.

    Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
    What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
    Mantra: "Self-love starts when I accept all parts of myself."
    Color: Yellow
    Element: Fire

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)
The heart chakra is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materiality) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone's heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.

    Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
    What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
    Mantra: "When I love myself, loving others comes easily."
    Color: Green
    Element: Air

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
The throat chakra gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate our personal power. When it's functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly. Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the words to say how they truly feel.

    Location: Throat
    What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
    Mantra: "I speak my truth, always."
    Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
    Element: Sound/Music

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)
As we move up the body, we're getting closer to communion with the divine. The third-eye chakra controls our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition. Think of it as the eye of the soul: It registers information beyond the surface level. Visions and intuitive hits are not uncommon for someone with an open third-eye chakra.

    Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)
    What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom
    Mantra: "I am open to exploring what cannot be seen."
    Color: Dark Blue/Purple
    Element: Light

7. Crown Chakra (Samsara or Sahasrara)
The crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra—something very few people ever do!—you're able to access a higher consciousness.

    Location: The very top of the head
    What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
    Lesson: "I am a vessel for love and light."
    Color: Violet/White
    Element: Divine Consciousness


Disclaimer: All crystal healing uses and metaphysical definitions are provided as a means of education and do not imply a guarantee of effect. Those suffering from an illness should consult with their General Practitioner FIRST. Crystal healing and other types of energy work are holistic complementary healthcare, not to be considered as a substitute for conventional medicine. If you have a serious health issue, you should consult your doctor and make complementary healing part of a complete health care program. You should consult a suitably qualified crystal healing practitioner. Joel is a certified Reiki, Chakra & Crystal Healing Practitioner. You can contact him for any questions or consultation: .

All products here on New England Knots Company have all been created, cleansed, and energized for positive intentions to help our customers with their holistic needs.

bottom of page